2020 Election Cyber Threat Landscape

Wednesday, December 11
1:15 pm – 2:15 pm
Thursday, December 12
2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Keep it Safe

John Israel, Security Operations Manager, State of Minnesota

Robert Biestman, Cyber Mission Center Sector Outreach Lead, Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

David Maeda, Director of Elections, Office of Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon

As election day 2020 quickly approaches, adversaries, both nation-state and criminal, may be looking to harm, influence, and disrupt elections via cyberspace operations. This session will look at cyber threat trends, who the adversaries are and what are their techniques and motivations behind targeting of elections, and potential election-related targets. This session will be lead by resources from the US Department of Homeland Security, Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office, and Minnesota IT Services.   

Minnesota election systems were targeted by foreign adversaries in the 2016 election. Since that time, federal, state, and local government resources have been studying past activity and improving plans to protect election systems in Minnesota and protect the integrity of every vote cast. This challenge will require resources from every level of government from the local precincts to the counties that count the votes to the state registration and tabulation systems, and the federal resources that support this nationwide critical infrastructure component.           

About GTS Educational Events

If you are a nonprofit or public sector group looking to create a conference, workshop or educational event with impact, look to GTS. We believe educational events are successful when participants learn and grow and then return to their organizations and communities to make them stronger. We look forward to continuing our work with the broad spectrum of organizations striving to make a difference for the people and communities they serve.

Steering Committee

Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Bill Bleckwehl, Cisco
Dave Andrews, DEED
Jay Wyant, Minnesota IT Services
Jim Hall, Ramsey County
Matt Bailey, IBM
Melissa Reeder, League of Minnesota Cities
Nathan Beran, City of New Ulm
Sue Wallace, IT Futures Foundation
Lisa Meredith, Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative
Justin Kaufman, Minnesota IT Services
Renee Heinbuch, Washington County/MNCITLA
Jerine Rosato, Ramsey County
David Berthiaume, Minnesota IT Services
Cory Tramm, Sourcewell Tech 

Content Committee

Tomas Alvarez, Federal Reserve
Tom Ammons, MN.IT – Central
Dave Andrews, MN State Services for the Blind
Susan Bousquet, MN.IT – DOT
Robert Granvin, Metro State
Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Shawntan Howell, Ramsey County
Jenny Johnson, Metropolitan Council
Millicent Kasal, MN.IT – Central
Ping Li, MN.IT – MMB
Chibuzor Nnaji, MN.IT – DHS
Mehrdad Shabestari, MN.IT – Central