The Art of Purposeful Leadership: Putting People First

Tuesday, December 10

8:30 am – 4:30 pm

Career Voyage

Patricia Neal
President, Center for Purposeful Leadership

Vivian Jenkins Nelsen
Owner; Co-president, Diversity Institute, Inc.; Co-founder, INTER-RACE, The Hypatia Group, Inc.

At the heart of effective leadership is purpose and then purpose shared. Thriving cultures create higher ROI and engaged people. Engagement is about linking life’s purpose with work that matters. Engaged people are happier, more alive, innovative, collaborative. In this workshop, you will explore and create a Purpose Manifesto for yourself and learn how to align others around a shared purpose; you will learn and experience a series of simple yet effective exercises to lead others to greater trust and commitment; and you will leave this session with a set of personal and leadership tools to apply immediately.

Learning Objectives

  1. Explore the Purposeful Leadership Model and Convening and 9 Steps to Collaboration Leadership Model. As a result of learning and implementing the tools, you will understand how you lead and engage with others is crucial to developing a truly innovative mindset.
  2. Delve into the Building Trust Leadership Behaviors Model. Learn the role and importance of emotional intelligence in building trust and ways to consistently create trust and authenticity in collaborative settings.
  3. Build a tool kit of skills and best practices to apply to your everyday work for breakthrough outcomes, including designing a case study to explore and address your leadership challenge.


About GTS Educational Events

If you are a nonprofit or public sector group looking to create a conference, workshop or educational event with impact, look to GTS. We believe educational events are successful when participants learn and grow and then return to their organizations and communities to make them stronger. We look forward to continuing our work with the broad spectrum of organizations striving to make a difference for the people and communities they serve.

Steering Committee

Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Bill Bleckwehl, Cisco
Dave Andrews, DEED
Jay Wyant, Minnesota IT Services
Jim Hall, Ramsey County
Matt Bailey, IBM
Melissa Reeder, League of Minnesota Cities
Nathan Beran, City of New Ulm
Sue Wallace, IT Futures Foundation
Lisa Meredith, Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative
Justin Kaufman, Minnesota IT Services
Renee Heinbuch, Washington County/MNCITLA
Jerine Rosato, Ramsey County
David Berthiaume, Minnesota IT Services
Cory Tramm, Sourcewell Tech 

Content Committee

Tomas Alvarez, Federal Reserve
Tom Ammons, MN.IT – Central
Dave Andrews, MN State Services for the Blind
Susan Bousquet, MN.IT – DOT
Robert Granvin, Metro State
Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Shawntan Howell, Ramsey County
Jenny Johnson, Metropolitan Council
Millicent Kasal, MN.IT – Central
Ping Li, MN.IT – MMB
Chibuzor Nnaji, MN.IT – DHS
Mehrdad Shabestari, MN.IT – Central