Accessibility Web & Web Application Testing 101

Tuesday, December 10

8:30 am – 12:00 pm

Got GaaS?

JoAnn Rauito
BA/Digital Accessibility Coordinator, MN.IT Services | Partnering with Department of Employment and Economic

Lolly Lijewski
Digital Accessibility Coordinator, Department of Human Services

Susie Crowell
Business Analyst, MNIT partnering with the Department of Employment and Economic Development 

The Americans with Disabilities Act says that organizations, including non-profits, must provide everyone with equal access to goods, services, communication, and information; even when it’s online. Similarly, Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act requires government and public entities, including those that receive federal funding, to make their websites compatible with assistive technology. So, between the two Acts, everyone must provide an accessible website.

State of Minnesota digital accessibility coordinators will provide instructions and hands-on activities to show how to test WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) for 2.0 Level A/AA accessibility requirements. Participants will learn how to perform scans with free Chrome semi-automated testing tools WAVE 1.0.9 and AXE 3.2 and conduct keyboard testing. The session will include a demonstration of user testing with JAWS (Job Access with Speech) 2019 and NVDA (Nonvisual Desktop Access) screen readers. Participants will need to bring a laptop with Google Chrome, WAVE and Axe installed.

Learning Objectives

  1. Run and interpret testing tool results for WAVE and AXE.
  2. Learn WCAG keyboard and focus testing.
  3. Learn the basics of testing with a JAWS screen reader.

About GTS Educational Events

If you are a nonprofit or public sector group looking to create a conference, workshop or educational event with impact, look to GTS. We believe educational events are successful when participants learn and grow and then return to their organizations and communities to make them stronger. We look forward to continuing our work with the broad spectrum of organizations striving to make a difference for the people and communities they serve.

Steering Committee

Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Bill Bleckwehl, Cisco
Dave Andrews, DEED
Jay Wyant, Minnesota IT Services
Jim Hall, Ramsey County
Matt Bailey, IBM
Melissa Reeder, League of Minnesota Cities
Nathan Beran, City of New Ulm
Sue Wallace, IT Futures Foundation
Lisa Meredith, Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative
Justin Kaufman, Minnesota IT Services
Renee Heinbuch, Washington County/MNCITLA
Jerine Rosato, Ramsey County
David Berthiaume, Minnesota IT Services
Cory Tramm, Sourcewell Tech 

Content Committee

Tomas Alvarez, Federal Reserve
Tom Ammons, MN.IT – Central
Dave Andrews, MN State Services for the Blind
Susan Bousquet, MN.IT – DOT
Robert Granvin, Metro State
Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Shawntan Howell, Ramsey County
Jenny Johnson, Metropolitan Council
Millicent Kasal, MN.IT – Central
Ping Li, MN.IT – MMB
Chibuzor Nnaji, MN.IT – DHS
Mehrdad Shabestari, MN.IT – Central