Successfully Partnering with Accessibility Testing Vendors

Thursday, December 12

12:45 pm – 1:45 pm

Geek School

Madhulika Gaur
Business and Quality Assurance Supervisor, MNIT

The State of Minnesota requires all information and communication technology (ICT) product or service to support the Minnesota IT Accessibility Standard. The standard entails, in part, the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 (Level AA) and Section 508, and all contracted products and services must include documentation of how they support the standard. Recently MNIT QA team partnered with Accessibility vendors to successfully complete testing for one of the high priority project – SWIFT(Statewide integrated Financial Tools).

In this presentation, cover how we identified the need of Accessibility testing; the extensive RFP review Process (including regular VPAT process) and accessible deliverables identified in the RFP; finding the correct vendor and the contractual terms, requirements and agreement; test planning, roles and responsibilities, and coordination; the outcome; deliverables (electronic documents); testing progress metrics, defect management, training and consultation; the best approach; quality check; and lessons learned.

About GTS Educational Events

If you are a nonprofit or public sector group looking to create a conference, workshop or educational event with impact, look to GTS. We believe educational events are successful when participants learn and grow and then return to their organizations and communities to make them stronger. We look forward to continuing our work with the broad spectrum of organizations striving to make a difference for the people and communities they serve.

Steering Committee

Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Bill Bleckwehl, Cisco
Dave Andrews, DEED
Jay Wyant, Minnesota IT Services
Jim Hall, Ramsey County
Matt Bailey, IBM
Melissa Reeder, League of Minnesota Cities
Nathan Beran, City of New Ulm
Sue Wallace, IT Futures Foundation
Lisa Meredith, Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative
Justin Kaufman, Minnesota IT Services
Renee Heinbuch, Washington County/MNCITLA
Jerine Rosato, Ramsey County
David Berthiaume, Minnesota IT Services
Cory Tramm, Sourcewell Tech 

Content Committee

Tomas Alvarez, Federal Reserve
Tom Ammons, MN.IT – Central
Dave Andrews, MN State Services for the Blind
Susan Bousquet, MN.IT – DOT
Robert Granvin, Metro State
Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Shawntan Howell, Ramsey County
Jenny Johnson, Metropolitan Council
Millicent Kasal, MN.IT – Central
Ping Li, MN.IT – MMB
Chibuzor Nnaji, MN.IT – DHS
Mehrdad Shabestari, MN.IT – Central