Government IT – We Don’t Have the Time to Go Slow Anymore

Wednesday, December 11

11:00 am – 12:00 pm

Future is Now

Shawn Riley
Chief Information Officer, ND Information Technology

Learn how North Dakota is leading change – and changing the world – during a time of rapid technological change through a “whole-of-government” approach to advance systems and services for its citizens. In a world of incredible citizen expectations and revolutionary technologies like the “Amazon experience”, blockchain, artificial intelligence, drones, autonomous vehicles, machine learning, and robotic agriculture, governments must change at unprecedented rates.  The state of North Dakota has risen to this challenge with massive technology initiatives that are getting done in months, not years. Join Shawn Riley, North Dakota State CIO, to hear an overview of these initiatives and learn how one state came together to advance systems and services for its citizens.

Learning objectives:

  1. Take away practical lessons in coalition building, strategic alliances and stakeholder relationships – the foundation for success of any initiative.
  2. Gain a deeper understanding of a first-in-nation, statewide approach to cybersecurity and the implications for enhanced data/system/citizen protection.
  3. Define key characteristics and outcomes of the K-20W Initiative, which is positioning North Dakota as a center of cybersecurity gravity in the Midwest.

About GTS Educational Events

If you are a nonprofit or public sector group looking to create a conference, workshop or educational event with impact, look to GTS. We believe educational events are successful when participants learn and grow and then return to their organizations and communities to make them stronger. We look forward to continuing our work with the broad spectrum of organizations striving to make a difference for the people and communities they serve.

Steering Committee

Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Bill Bleckwehl, Cisco
Dave Andrews, DEED
Jay Wyant, Minnesota IT Services
Jim Hall, Ramsey County
Matt Bailey, IBM
Melissa Reeder, League of Minnesota Cities
Nathan Beran, City of New Ulm
Sue Wallace, IT Futures Foundation
Lisa Meredith, Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative
Justin Kaufman, Minnesota IT Services
Renee Heinbuch, Washington County/MNCITLA
Jerine Rosato, Ramsey County
David Berthiaume, Minnesota IT Services
Cory Tramm, Sourcewell Tech 

Content Committee

Tomas Alvarez, Federal Reserve
Tom Ammons, MN.IT – Central
Dave Andrews, MN State Services for the Blind
Susan Bousquet, MN.IT – DOT
Robert Granvin, Metro State
Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Shawntan Howell, Ramsey County
Jenny Johnson, Metropolitan Council
Millicent Kasal, MN.IT – Central
Ping Li, MN.IT – MMB
Chibuzor Nnaji, MN.IT – DHS
Mehrdad Shabestari, MN.IT – Central