2021 Golden GOVIT Awards Information Guide

Submissions Have Closed

NOTE:  The online submission form automatically closes at 11:59 CDT on October 4th and technical support is only available until 4:00 pm that day. Please plan accordingly. NOMINATIONS THAT ARE INCOMPLETE OR RECEIVED AFTER THE DEADLINE WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED.

What are the Golden GOVIT Awards?
The Golden GOVIT Awards recognize  government agencies and individuals that have advanced government technology through collaboration, innovation, service and individual leadership.

How are the awards connected to the Government IT Symposium?
The Government IT Symposium provides a natural forum to feature and celebrate the products, services, systems and solutions that improve government IT services and benefit citizens. 2021 recipients will announced during the Symposium on November 18th. In addition, there will be scheduled times throughout the Symposium for nominees to discuss their projects/initiatives to attendees.

What are the Award Categories & Criteria?
There are four award categories for 2021 – three that are product/program-based and awarded to an agency or team, and one that is awarded to an individual. There will be one award winner selected from each of the following categories. The award winners will have demonstrated excellence and impact in:


  • Collaboration (product/program) – A joint effort between two or more government bodies, two or more departments within a single body, or between government bodies and private firms/non-profit organizations that use shared resources to create a new product or program; which resulted in cost-savings, efficiency and an effective response to an identified need.
  • Innovation (product/program) – A product or program that disrupts the current status quo and meets these three criteria: Novelty: the degree of newness and uniqueness; Impact: the magnitude and scope of improvement to government efficiency and effectiveness; Replicability: the potential for replication in other government bodies or sectors.
  • Service (product/program) – The delivery of digital information and/or transactional services that make a difference in the lives of citizens. Nominations should meet these criteria: a strong focus on the end-user’s accessibility and experience, a high level of citizen engagement and satisfaction, incorporation of the technologies used by today’s citizens, and timely, informative content.
  • Individual Leader An individual who champions and implements innovation, inspires collaboration, is focused on improving service, and demonstrates a personal commitment to advancing the professional and career development of him/herself as well as others in their agency.


Note:  All projects nominated must have been implemented (or in beta stage) within the last two years of the submission deadline.  

Who can be nominated for these awards?
A government body or individual can nominate themselves or they can be nominated by an internal or external source that has direct knowledge and experience with the nominee. All nominees must be employed by federal, regional or state agencies, counties, cities/townships, or state colleges/universities.

Note: The Golden GOVIT Award Subcommittee has the right to limit the amount of nominations that get passed through for peer reviewing.

How are award recipients selected?
Submitted nominations will be reviewed by the Symposium organizers to ensure complete information. If more than four nominations are received in any category, all nominations in that category will be reviewed by the Government IT Symposium Steering Committee for finalist selection. Four nominations in each category (finalists) will be presented on the Government IT Symposium website and on the virtual conference platform the week of October 11th. Project finalists will also be given the opportunity to discuss their projects during the Symposium. 

Individuals who register to attend the Symposium by the voting deadline will receive an invitation and instructions to review the posted nominations, and vote for their top choices in each category (individuals will only be able to vote once in each category).  Nominees receiving the highest number of votes in each category will be the award recipients. In the event of a tie score, the Steering Committee will make the final selection.

How are award recipients notified?
Award recipients will be announced at the close of the Government IT Symposium on November 18th. All nominees should plan to attend.

How are nominees recognized?
The four finalists in each category will be…

  • Featured on the Government IT Symposium website during the voting period.
  • Recognized at the closing of the Government IT Symposium on November 18th.
  • Asked to share more information about their project in a virtual exhibit booth and/ or during Q&A sessions at designated times during the Symposium (November 15-18th).
  • Each agency or individual will receive one complimentary registration to the Government IT Symposium (one registration per nomination).

The following information will be requested on the online submission form. It is highly recommended that nomination information is created in another document and cut and pasted into the online submission form:

  • Award category, title of project (or name of the individual leader), agency, contact information for the nominator and nominee, project implementation date
  • Summary (100 words or less) – a high level overview of the project (or the individual leader)
  • Narrative (500 words or less) – for projects, include the concept, process, significance and impact (how it demonstrates excellence and meets the criteria); for individual leaders, describe how he/she meets the criteria. Nominations may include URLs of public-facing, project-specific sites. Additional materials or attachments will not be accepted.

When and how do we submit nominations?
All nominations must be sent through the online submission form. Once you submit your nomination a confirmation will be sent to you via email. No revisions to nominations once submitted. Nominations will be accepted during the month of September. (Nominations must be received by 11:59 p.m. CDT on October 8th). Finalists will be notified the week of October 11th.

Submissions Have Closed.

About Fusion Learning Partners

From learning opportunities and events to organizational development and collaborative initiatives, Fusion exists to strengthen and transform the communities where we work, live, and thrive.

Because Innovation Begins with Learning.

Steering Committee

Alex Hepp, City of Hopkins
Chad Kummerow, Microsoft
Dave Andrews, DEED
Glen Gilbertson, Hennpin County
Jay Wyant, Minnesota IT Services
Jim Hall, Hallmentum
Matt Bailey, IBM
Melissa Reeder, League of Minnesota Cities
Sue Wallace, IT Futures Foundation

Lisa Meredith, Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative
Renee Heinbuch, Washington County/MNCITLA
David Berthiaume, Minnesota IT Services
Corey Tramm, Sourcewell Tech
Joel Pingel, Google
Jennifer Marik, AWS
Jason Greninger, City of Rogers