This blog is a repost from the MNIT Office of Accessibility By: Jay Wyant

Preparing the State for a More Accessible Future

Last June, we published a blog post about a possible update to the State’s digital accessibility standard. The current standard includes Section 508 and Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0.

Over the last year, we:

  • Researched the impact of the WCAG 2.1 success criteria on content creators.
  • Explored the success criteria’s value for end-users.
  • Held several statewide presentations and listening sessions.
  • Surveyed state employees on what they’d need to be ready.

After presenting our findings, we received approval to update the standard.

The decision:

  • We will update the standard to include WCAG 2.1.
  • The effective date will be March 1, 2024 and may be later.

What’s next?

Read the full article at